What's On Past Events

Celebrating R. Murray Schafer

Main Stage


Soundstreams and R. Murray Schafer — A 30-Year Collaboration

Soundstreams acknowledges R. Murray Schafer’s passing with profound sorrow, but at the same time, we recognize that now we have both the responsibility and the opportunity to share that music with Canada and the rest of the world. This historical concert also marks the beginning of Soundstreams’ 40th anniversary season.

What to Expect

Soundstreams collaborated closely with Schafer for 30 years, commissioning and premiering some of the major works in his opus. To pay tribute to Schafer, Soundstreams’ Founding Artistic Director Lawrence Cherney has put together a small sample of Schafer’s masterworks.

Concert Length: Approximately 80 minutes, with no intermission.

Featured Artists

  • David Fallis, Conductor
  • Choir 21
  • Meghan Lindsay, Soprano
  • Lindsay McIntyre, Soprano
  • Molinari String Quartet
  • Judy Loman, Harp
  • Michael Murphy, Percussion
  • Joyce To, Percussion
  • Michael Fedyshyn, Trumpet


All Works by R. Murray Schafer

  • Aubade for Two Voices (from And the Wolf Shall Inherit the Moon)
  • Three Hymns (from The Fall Into Light)
  • String Quartet No.12
  • Two Sisters: Isis & Nephthys (from Ra)
  • Epitaph for Moonlight
  • Fire
  • The Death of Shalana

This concert is presented in collaboration with Eleanor James, Grace Church on-the-Hill,
and the Canadian Music Centre. Very special thanks to Canon Peter Walker, Chris Leonard,
Arcana Editions, Molinari String Quartet, The WholeNote, CBC Music, Tõnu Kaljuste, Elora
Festival Singers, Latvian Radio Choir, Norwegian Soloists’ Choir, and Pro Coro Canada.