Soundstreams exists to strengthen public engagement with new Canadian music and music theatre/opera through innovative musical experiences.

Performances & Events Main Stage - 2019 / 2020

View All
A 21st -century musical journey through renaissance and baroque music.
“… the ultimate result is so utterly gorgeous, [it] is almost beyond words.” —– Exclaim! on Nick Storring

Why join us?

Get ready to experience the novelty of new sounds on old instruments.

What to Expect

Concert length: approximately 2 hours, with intermission.

Eclectic composer and guest curator Nick Storring has put together a 21st-century musical journey using renaissance and baroque instruments. Featuring performers on harpsichord/organetto, baroque violin, viola da gamba, and the hurdy-gurdy. Let this alluring sound world and video projections wash over you in the Drake Underground.

Featured Performers:

Nick Storring, composer, curator
Katelyn Clark, harpsichord/organetto
Emily Redhead, violin
Pierre-Yves Martel, viola da gamba/pitch pipes
Ben Grossman, hurdy-gurdy
Dwight Storring, filmmaker

Select Repertoire:

Linda Catlin Smith, Rose With Thorns
Elizabeth Jacquet de la Guerre, Sonata in A minor
Christian Wolff, Snowdrop
Nick Storring, Passages (through & between)
And improvisations from Ben Grossman, Pierre Yves-Martel, & Katelyn Clark

Soundstreams guest curation program is supported by:




This project is commissioned with the support of:




Soundstreams’ Drake Underground presentations made possible with generous support from Neil and Carolyn Turnbull.

Presented in Partnership with: